History/Background

St Agathas Church is a red brick basilica of 1894, built for the famous Anglo-Catholic priest Father Robert Dolling, by Joseph Henry Ball, a pupil of Alfred Waterhouse.The grand Italianate interior is enriched with marble, alabaster and carved stone. The centrepiece, however, is a unique sgraffito mural designed and executed by Haywood Sumner, a friend and disciple of William Morris. Commissioned in 1901, the coloured plaster mural covers the complete apsidal east end of what is probably the finest example of a late 19th Century  "Early christian" style basilica.
· Listed Grade II* (Grade two star)
· The largest Sgraffito mural in England
·
A distinguished collection of furnishings including work by:-
   Sir Ninian Comper,        Randoll Blacking
   Victor Heal,                      Charles Eamer Kempe
   Norman Shaw,                Martin Travers
   Sir Walter Tapper,           Sebastian Pugin Powell
·
Many English and continental furnishings and fittings from the17thcentury to the early 20th century.
·
An outstanding collection of embroidered vestments
·
A fine collection of English and continental church plate.
(The vestments and the plate are not kept in the church and prior arrangement must be made for a viewing.)